• Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • reddit
NASCAR Who's Who Among Two Dozen Named To North Carolina Motorsports Council PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Wednesday, 23 October 2013 14:47

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - Some familiar names in NASCAR are among the two dozen new appointees to the North Carolina Motorsports Council. The new members will serve two years. They were appointed by Gov. Pat McCrory. 

The Council  recommends policy, procedures and program initiatives to protect, strengthen and expand the motorsports industry. It conducts public hearings or input sessions regarding the motorsports industry when deemed necessary or beneficial. It also encourages support for motorsports and serves as an industry resource to the General Assembly and state departments and agencies. 
The members are:
The Honorable Karen Ray, Chairperson (Iredell County) – Ray is a former member of the NC House of Representatives, North Carolina Motorsports Association director of governmental affairs and is also president of BSCI, Inc. Energy Impact Systems. 
John Dodson (Iredell County) – Dodson is vice president of community and NASCAR relations for NASCAR Technical Institute. 
Steve Earwood (Moore County) – Earwood is president and owner of Rockingham Dragway. 
Richmond Gage (Cabarrus County) – Gage is program chair of motorsports management for Rowan Cabarrus Community College. He is also the director of the NC Community College Motorsports Consortium. 
J.D. Gibbs (Mecklenburg County) – Gibbs is president of Joe Gibbs Racing. 
Gray Garrison (Yadkin County) – Garrison is a promoter for Bowman Gray Stadium in Forsyth County. 
Tatiana Papis (Iredell County) – Papis is president of Max Papis, Inc. USA and the vice president of Max Papis International. 
Tim Cindric (Iredell County) – Cindric is president of Penske Performance, Inc. 
Winston Kelley (Mecklenburg County) – Kelley is vice president of the Charlotte Regional Visitors Authority and is also executive director of the NASCAR Hall of Fame. 
Scott Cooper (Cabarrus County) – Cooper is vice president of communications for Charlotte Motor Speedway. 
Brian Moffitt (Randolph County) – Moffitt is CEO of Richard Petty Motorsports. 
Terri Parsons (Wilkes County) – Parsons is the owner of Benny Parsons Rendezvous Ridge and Benny Parsons Racing Museum. She is also the Wilkes County film commissioner. 
Bobby Rice (Mecklenburg County) – Rice is president of Hendrick Companies (Hendrick Automotive Group and Hendrick Motorsports). 
Bill Patterson (Davidson County) – Patterson is executive vice president of Richard Childress Racing. 
Kelley Earnhardt Miller (Iredell County) – Miller is vice president and general manager of JR Motorsports. 
Clyde Vickers (Randolph County) – Vickers is chairman of the board of SV America Holding, Inc., owner of CV Products, Xceldyne, AMC and Cyra Racing Systems. 
Ian Prince (Cabarrus County) – Prince is director of facilities for Roush Fenway Racing. 
Colleen Matte (Cabarrus County) – Matte is president of Thermal Control Products, Inc. 
Brett Jewkes (Mecklenburg County) – Jewkes is vice president and chief communications officer for NASCAR. 
Mesbah Uddin (Mecklenburg County) – Uddin is director of the UNC-Charlotte NC Automotive and Motorsports Research Center. 
Greg Fornelli (Iredell County) – Fornelli is president of Stock Car Steel and Aluminum and SRI-Supplies for Racing and Industry. 
Shurley Ray McCullen Weddle (Sampson County) – Weddle is the assistant clerk of  Superior Court for Sampson County. 
Matt Smith (Mecklenburg County) – Smith is managing director of the Finley Group. 
Billy Strickland (Wayne County) – Strickland is an attorney with Strickland, Lapas & Associates.
Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 October 2013 14:48
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392