• Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • reddit
State Government
Former Ambassador Jim Cain Named To North Carolina Awards Committee PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Monday, 24 August 2015 05:37

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - A familiar name in North Carolina will help guide the Cultural Resources department in selecting award winners.

The Honorable Jim P. Cain, former U.S. Ambassador to Denmark, is one of several people who will take seats on the North Carolina Awards Committee.

Cain worked for the international law firm of Kilpatrick Stockton for 20 years, co-founding the firm's Research Triangle office in 1985. He served as the President and Chief Operating Officer of the Carolina Hurricanes and their parent company for two years.

Joining Cain is Nancy H. Temple, formerly of Progress Energy. She served in the administration of North Carolina Governor Jim Martin and was his Chief of Staff from 1989 to 1993.  

Lenard D. Moore will also join the committee. He is Assistant Professor of English at Mount Olive College. 

Audit: Community Care of North Carolina Saves Money, Improves Health Outcomes PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Friday, 21 August 2015 05:34

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - An audit of a key Health and Human Services operation shows positive news for Community Care of North Carolina model of delivering medical services to some Medicaid recipients in the state.

"The researcher’s analysis suggests that the Community Care of North Carolina managed care program saved money and improved some health outcomes among non-elderly, non-dual Medicaid beneficiaries." says a statement announcing the audit's results.

"Community Care of North Carolina and Department Health and Human Services agreed with our findings," the summary continues.

The audit can be found at : http://www.ncauditor.net/EpsWeb/Reports/FiscalControl/FCA-2014-4445.pdf

Gov. Pat McCrory's Public Schedule For Thursday, August 20, 2015 PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Thursday, 20 August 2015 05:27

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - Following is Gov. Pat McCrory's public schedule for Thursday, August 20, 2015, as released by his office.

10 a.m.
Phoenix Academy of High Point Ribbon Cutting Ceremony
7847 Clinard Farms Rd.
High Point

PRESS:        OPEN to credentialed press only.

Now For The Really Hard Part: Cutting The Pie For the $21.7 Billion General Fund Operating Budget PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Thursday, 20 August 2015 05:25

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - Senate and House leadership, along with Gov. Pat McCrory, agreed earlier this week that the new general fund operating budget will total $21.735 billion. But now the serious negotiations begin over how to cut the financial pie in a way all three can support.

The issues to be decided include education and transportation. Some want teacher assistants to be cut from the budget while others say they are key to operating a classroom.

The governor has proposed two infrastructure bonds he wants voter to decide on in the fall, but some legislative leaders aren't convinced of the need for borrowing.

The agreement on the bottom line number came Tuesday and was announced by the governor following a breakfast at the Executive Mansion in Raleigh.

The new fiscal year began July 1. The state is operating under a Continuing Resolution -- the second -- that expires August 31.

Last week, the Governor signed a Continuing Resolution giving the General Assembly until August 31 to reach an agreement.


Page 3 of 16
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392