• Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • reddit
The Campaign Trail
NC Democratic Chair Blasts Supreme Court Decision PDF Print E-mail
The Campaign Trail
By Administrator   
Wednesday, 27 June 2018 09:56
Raleigh -  NCDP Chairman Wayne Goodwin released the following statement following the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision to send North Carolina’s partisan gerrymandering case back to lower courts:
“The court has delayed justice and fair maps in North Carolina yet again. North Carolinians have suffered under some of the worst unconstitutional gerrymanders in the country for nearly a decade, paying the price with representatives who repeatedly put partisanship before people. Justice delayed is justice denied. We look forward to the day when these unconstitutional districts are gone and North Carolinians will finally get to choose their representatives, instead of the other way around.”
Victim Rights Constitutional Amendment Will Go Before Voters PDF Print E-mail
The Campaign Trail
By Administrator   
Wednesday, 27 June 2018 09:52
The North Carolina Senate passed legislation that will let voters consider a constitutional amendment on the November 2018 ballot to expand the rights of victims of crime and their families. 
A victims’ rights amendment was added to North Carolina’s Constitution in 1996, which gave some crime victims basic rights to participate in the justice system, but House Bill 551 further advances those rights by doing the following:
•         Expands the scope of crimes under which protections to victims are extended. 
•         Requires that victims receive effective and timely notice of all court proceedings.
•         Expands victims’ rights to those victimized by juveniles.
•         Gives victims a greater voice in the process by allowing them to be heard at plea, conviction, sentencing or adjudication hearings.
•         Creates an enforcement mechanism which allows a victim to file a motion with the court if they are being deprived of their rights.  
“This really is a safety and a respect issue. Victims of crimes should not be marginalized. They have rights too, and they deserve the right to be heard, as well as the right to know what’s going on in court proceedings that involve them,” said Sen. Tamara Barringer (R-Wake). “Enshrining this amendment in the Constitution will ensure victim’s rights are enforceable and consistent across all 100 counties in North Carolina and will not be subject to legislative change.”
While protecting the rights of victims, the bill makes sure that those rights do not infringe upon the rights of the accused. 
Board of Elections Recognizes Constitution Party PDF Print E-mail
The Campaign Trail
By Administrator   
Thursday, 07 June 2018 09:55

The Bipartisan State Board of Elections & Ethics Enforcement voted unanimously on Wednesday to recognize the Constitution Party of North Carolina as the state’s newest political party.

That means voters in North Carolina can register as unaffiliated or with any of the following parties: Constitution, Democratic, Green, Libertarian or Republican. It also means the Constitution Party may nominate candidates for the November 2018 general election.
The State Board is modifying voter registration forms to add the newly recognized party. Until then, voters may register with the Constitution Party by checking the “Other” box and writing “Constitution” on the line in the “Political Party Affiliation” section of the voter registration application.
The Constitution Party is the first party to qualify under a 2017 law that lowered the number of voters’ signatures required to form a new party to 0.25 percent of the voters who cast ballots in the most recent election for governor, as well as the signatures of at least 200 voters from at least three congressional districts.
Constitution Party representatives timely filed with the State Board more than the required 11,925 signatures, as well as more than 200 signatures from more than three congressional districts.
Last Updated on Thursday, 07 June 2018 09:56
NC Democrats Run TV Ad Critical Of GOP Legislators PDF Print E-mail
The Campaign Trail
By Administrator   
Tuesday, 13 December 2011 15:14

RALEIGH - The North Carolina Democratic Party says it's started running a television ad criticizing Republican leaders at the General Assembly for passing laws that hurt women on issues from abortion and child care to Medicaid and the public schools.


The state party said Tuesday the 60-second commercial is running on cable TV in the Charlotte and Raleigh markets. A party spokesman declined to say how much money is being spent on the ad. An email sent to party supporters asked for more donations to keep the ad running.


The ad features Governor Beverly Perdue, state legislators and former Cabinet secretary and longtime party activist Betty McCain, who said "the GOP has declared war on women." The ad includes footage of Republican House leaders Thom Tillis and Paul Stam.


Page 2 of 2
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392