Bipartisan Support Grows for Opiod Abuse Prevention Act

By Administrator Friday, 24 March 2017 13:48 - Last Updated Friday, 24 March 2017 13:50

Legislation to confront the opioid crisis, the STOP Act, has received statewide support, including endorsements from law enforcement groups, physicians groups and treatment and recovery organizations. The legislation is also now cosponsored by 15 additional members of the Senate and 72 members of the House. A full list of endorsers and cosponsors is below.

"The opioid crisis is leaving a trail of sick or dead people behind it all over the state," said AG Stein. "I am pleased that so many law enforcement, physicians and treatment and recovery organizations stand in support of the STOP Act."

"The STOP Act will start the process to restrict the flow of opioids and stem the epidemic that is plaguing our state. I'm thankful for the many organizations that are supporting this bill and look forward to it passing the legislature and our governor signing it into law." - Sen. Tom McInnis

The following organizations have endorsed the STOP Act:

North Carolina Sheriffs' Association

NC Association of Chiefs of Police

North Carolina Conference of District Attorneys

North Carolina Medical Board

North Carolina Metro Mayors Association

Addiction Professionals of North Carolina

North Carolina Harm Reduction Coalition

Healing Transitions

Burke Recovery

Coastal Horizons Center, Inc.

National Association of Social Workers, North Carolina Chapter

Bipartisan Support Grows for Opiod Abuse Prevention Act

By Administrator Friday, 24 March 2017 13:48 - Last Updated Friday, 24 March 2017 13:50

Momentum Recovery

The following members of the NC Senate and House have endorsed the bill:

NC Senate:

Primary Sponsors— Jim Davis (R- Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain), Tom McInnis (R- Anson, Richmond, Rowan, Scotland, Stanly), Bill Rabon (R- Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender)

Sponsors— Danny Britt (R- Columbus, Robeson), Andrew Brock (R- Davie, Iredell, Rowan), Jay Chauduri (D- Wake), Ben Clark (D- Cumberland, Hoke), Bill Cook (R- Beaufort, Camden, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hyde, Pasquotank, Perquimans), Cathy Dunn (R- Davidson, Montgomery), Brent Jackson (R- Duplin, Johnston, Sampson), Joyce Krawiec (R- Forsyth, Yadkin), Michael Lee (R- New Hanover), Paul Lowe (R- Forsyth), Paul Newton (R- Cabarrus, Union), Norman Sanderson (R- Carteret, Craven, Pamlico), Erica Smith-Ingram (D- Bertie, Chowan, Edgecombe, Hertford, Martin, Northampton, Tyrrell, Washington), Terry Van Duyn (D-Buncombe), Mike Woodard (D- Durham, Caswell, Person)

NC House of Representatives:

Primary Sponsors— Gregory Murphy (R- Pitt), Ted Davis (R- New Hanover), Chris Malone (R- Wake), Craig Horn (R- Union)

Sponsors: Jay Adams (R- Catawba), John Ager (D- Buncombe), Cynthia Ball (D- Wake), Mary Belk (D- Mecklenburg), Hugh Blackwell (R- Burke), James Boles (R- Moore), Beverly Boswell (R- Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Washington), John Bradford (R- Mecklenburg), William Brisson (D- Bladen, Johnston, Sampson), Cecil Brockman (D- Guilford), Deb Butler (D- Brunswick, New Hanover), Becky Carney (D- Mecklenburg), Mike Clampitt (R- Haywood, Jackson, Swain), George Cleveland (R- Onslow), Kevin Corbin (R- Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Macon), Jimmy Dixon (R- Duplin, Wayne), Josh Dobson (R- Avery, McDowell, Mitchell), Nelson Dollar (R- Wake), Andy Dulin (R- Mecklenburg), John Faircloth (R- Guilford), Jean Farmer-Butterfield (D-

Bipartisan Support Grows for Opiod Abuse Prevention Act

By Administrator Friday, 24 March 2017 13:48 - Last Updated Friday, 24 March 2017 13:50

Pitt, Wilson), Susan Fisher (D- Buncombe), Elmer Floyd (D- Cumberland), Carl Ford (R-Cabarrus, Rowan), John Fraley (R- Iredell), Rosa Gill (D- Wake), Ken Goodman (D- Hoke, Montgomery, Richmond, Robeson, Scotland), Charles Graham (D- Robeson), George Graham (D- Craven, Greene, Lenoir), Holly Grange (R- New Hanover), Kyle Hall (R- Rockingham, Stokes), Ed Hanes (D- Forsyth), Jon Hardister (R- Guilford), Pricey Harrison (D- Guilford), Cody Henson (R- Henderson, Polk, Transylvania), Yvonne Holley (D- Wake), Julia Howard (R- Davie, Forsyth), Pat Hurley (R- Randolph), Frank Iler (R- Brunswick), Verla Insko (D- Orange), Darren Jackson (D- Wake), Joe John (D- Wake), Bert Jones (R- Caswell, Rockingham), Brenden Jones (R- Bladen, Columbus, Robeson), Donny Lambeth (R- Forsyth), Marvin Lucas (D- Cumberland), Susan Martin (R- Pitt, Wilson), Pat McElcraft (R- Carteret, Jones), Chuck McGrady (R-Henderson), Allen McNeill (R- Moore, Randolph), Graig Meyer (D- Durham, Orange), Larry Potts (R- Davidson), Michele Presnell (R- Haywood, Madison, Yancey), Amos Quick (D-Guilford), Robert Reives (D- Chatham, Lee), Bobbie Richardson (D- Franklin, Nash), Dennis Riddell (R- Alamance), Stephen Ross (R- Alamance), Mitchell Setzer (R- Catawba), Phil Shepard (R- Onslow), Bob Steinburg (R- Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Tyrrell), Sarah Stevens (R- Surry, Wilkes), Scott Stone (R- Mecklenburg), Larry Strickland (R- Johnston), Evelyn Terry (D- Forsyth), Brian Turner (D- Buncombe), Harry Warren (R- Rowan), Donna White (R- Johnston), Linda Williams (R- Wake), Shelly Willingham (D-Edgecombe, Martin), Michael Wray (D- Halifax, Northampton)