By Administrator Thursday, 20 November 2014 06:05 -

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - The Highway Patrol has honored employees for dedicated service to the state. The awards were presented by Colonel Bill Grey, commander of the North Carolina State Highway Patrol and Frank L. Perry, Secretary of the Department of Public Safety.

"The employees recognized today for their dedicated service to North Carolina have taken their calling to a higher level," Secretary Perry said of the awards. "This special recognition is well deserved for those who have exhibited extraordinary acts of service within their profession."

The Highway Patrol Meritorious Award is given by the Patrol to a member or members who serve the state of North Carolina in an outstanding manner.

The Highway Patrol Samaritan Award is an award bestowed to a member of the Patrol who went beyond the call of duty to aid or assist a fellow citizen.

The Highway Patrol Humanitarian Award is an award that recognizes an employee or group of employees for outstanding volunteer public service that significantly contributes to individuals, groups, organizations, or communities in North Carolina.

The Highway Patrol Appreciation Award is given in recognition of a citizen or group who has significantly contributed to the success and mission of the Highway Patrol.

Awards and Recipients:

Meritorious Service Group Award

First Sergeant J. R. Deardorff – Troop D, District 3 – Reidsville, N.C.

First Sergeant D. B. Wright – Troop D, District 5 – Alamance, N.C.

First Sergeant R. C. Hester – Troop D, District 4 – Roxboro, N.C.

Trooper J. R. Brown – Troop D, District 3 – Reidsville, N.C.

Trooper D. A. Burgess - Troop D, District 3 – Reidsville, N.C.

Trooper M. S. Elrod - Troop D, District 3 – Reidsville, N.C.

Trooper R. W. Hamilton - Troop D, District 3 - Reidsville, N.C.

Trooper S. F. Lynch - Troop D, District 3 – Reidsville, N.C.

Trooper J. R. Moore - Troop D, District 3 – Reidsville, N.C.

Trooper G. R. Strader - Troop D, District 3 – Reidsville, N.C.

Trooper J. M. Thomas - Troop D, District 3 - Reidsville, N.C.

Meritorious Service Award

Mr. Joshua A. Utt – Technical Service Unit – Raleigh, N.C.

Samaritan Award

Trooper Phillip L. Briggs – Troop C, District 1 – Rocky Mount, N.C.

Trooper William T. Smith – Troop C, District 8 – Roanoke Rapids, N.C.

Trooper Joseph K. Jones – Troop A, District 3 – Elizabeth City, N.C.

Trooper Steven P. Ziemba – Troop A, District 5 – Greenville, N.C.

Trooper Jason B. Casteen – Troop B, District 4 – Burgaw, N.C.

Trooper Nazareth S. Hankins – Troop B, District 4 – Burgaw, N.C.

Trooper Mark A. Coyle – Troop I, District 2 – Charlotte, N.C.

First Sergeant Joseph L. Gaskins – Troop C, District 4 – Louisburg, N.C.

Humanitarian Service Group Award

Sergeant Joe W. Bright – Training Academy – Raleigh, N.C.

Trooper Jeremy R. Zachary – Troop D, District 5 – Graham, N.C.

Trooper Paul J. Mitchell – Troop D, District 2 – Greensboro, N.C.

State Highway Patrol Employees and Civilians Receive Departmental Awards

By Administrator Thursday, 20 November 2014 06:05 -

Trooper Michael P. Jones - Troop B, District 3 - Jacksonville, N.C.

Trooper Anthony D. Chambers (retired) – Troop E, District 5 – King, N.C.

Humanitarian Service Award

Trooper Cleveland Atkinson Jr. - Executive Protection Detail - Raleigh, N.C

Sergeant Kelly W. Stewart – Troop F, District 5 – Hickory, N.C.

First Sergeant Kelly J. Sturgill - Troop H, District 5 - Charlotte, N.C.

Appreciation Award

Wake & District Public Safety Pipes and Drums – Raleigh, N.C.