State Government
Governor Vetoes Pistol Purchase Bill; Signs 11 Bills Into Law PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Wednesday, 01 September 2021 08:27
 Governor Roy Cooper signed the following bills into law:
* House Bill 415: Update Chiropractic Laws 
* House Bill 489: 2021 Building Code and Dev. Reg. Reform
* Senate Bill 316: Gen. Contractors/Plumbing/Electr. Exempt
* Senate Bill 314: Local Gov. Commission Assistance Toolkit 
* Senate Bill 207: Various Raise the Age Changes/JJAC Recs 
* Senate Bill 159: State Health Plan Administrative Changes. 
* Senate Bill 379: Issuance of Unregisterable Cert. of Title   
* Senate Bill 570: Hold Harmless Star Ratings/ERS Assess. 
* House Bill 692: Restrict Certain Vehicle Modifications 
* Senate Bill 462: CON/Threshold Amds. & Certificate Expirations   
* Senate Bill 654: K-12 COVID-19 Provisions 


Governor Cooper also vetoed the following bills: 
* House Bill 352: Hotel Safety Issues  
* House Bill 398: Pistol Purchase Permit Repeal 


Governor Cooper made the following statement on HB 352: 
"This legislation is not the right way to ensure safety in hotels. It removes legal protections and allows unnecessary harm to vulnerable people, including families with children, who have turned to hotels and motels for housing in a time of need."
Governor Cooper made the following statement on HB 398:
“Gun permit laws reduce gun homicides and suicides and reduce the availability of guns for criminal activity. At a time of rising gun violence, we cannot afford to repeal a system that works to save lives. The legislature should focus on combating gun violence instead of making it easier for guns to end up in the wrong hands.”
Office For Historically Underutilized Businesses Launch Small Business Enterprise Program PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Wednesday, 01 September 2021 08:22

The NC Department of Administration’s Office for Historically Underutilized Businesses launched the statewide Small Business Enterprise Program (NCSBE) to aid North Carolina’s minority-owned businesses post-pandemic.

“The pandemic is shining a bright light on long-standing issues that communities of color face, including economic challenges,” said Governor Cooper. “We want our historically underutilized businesses to have the guidance they need to recover from the pandemic, and this program will help provide these resources.”

The initiative was created to encourage continued growth and development of historically underutilized businesses and disadvantaged business enterprise firms across the state.

“The Small Business Enterprise Program is just one of the many initiatives established by the NC Office for Historically Underutilized Businesses to aid entrepreneurs, particularly those operating small and micro-small businesses, as they recover from the devastating effects of the COVID-19 pandemic,” said NC Department of Administration Secretary Pamela B. Cashwell. “One way in which the program seeks to improve the current state of businesses is by offering guidance on access to capital and business development.”

The NCSBE program provides businesses with access to various contract opportunities, including state contracts, offering a platform to compete competitively against like-businesses within their respective industries and markets. The program also provides guidance on business development including marketing and financial strategies.

“I am excited about the Small Business Enterprise Program as it will continue our efforts to move North Carolina small businesses to post-pandemic recovery,” said NC HUB Office Director Tammie Hall. “We are accepting applications now, and I encourage eligible businesses who are interested to apply.”

The NCSBE program mirrors the NC Department of Transportation’s (NCDOT) Small Business Enterprise Program. NCDOT’s program provides small businesses with opportunities to earn road construction and maintenance contracts.

To participate in the NCSBE program, businesses must meet specific eligibility requirements and complete an online application form, which is available on the NC HUB website .The application is open to both HUB certified and non-HUB certified firms.

All NCSBE program participants must:

*             Be an independent for-profit business headquartered in the state of North Carolina

*             Be a business with up to 100 employees (including but not limited to, sole proprietorships, home based businesses, and independent contractors)

*             Not have annual revenues exceeding $1,500,000

To learn more about the NCSBE Program, visit the NC HUB Office website for details.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 01 September 2021 08:32
Gov. Pat McCrory's Public Schedule For Thursday, October 30, 2014 PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Thursday, 30 October 2014 04:59

RALEIGH, ( - Following is Gov. Pat McCrory's public schedule for Thursday, October 30, 2014, as released by his office.

8:15 a.m.
N.C. CEO Forum
North Ridge Country Club
6612 Falls of Neuse Road

OPEN to credentialed press only.

Last Updated on Thursday, 30 October 2014 05:04
State Medicaid Contract Scrutinized By Auditors PDF Print E-mail
State Government
By Administrator   
Tuesday, 13 December 2011 15:19

RALEIGH - State auditors are questioning how a contract to overhaul and operate the claims processing system for North Carolina's Medicaid program became bogged down with cost overruns and a nearly two-year delay.


State Auditor Beth Wood's office is examining the state's Medicaid Management Information System office and a $265 million contract awarded to Computer Sciences Corp. The project was supposed to be operational this year. A draft of Wood's report obtained by the Associated Press says the project now will be 22 months late and exceed initial cost estimates by $320 million.


The audit draft report says the Medicaid office did not appear to use controls to be reasonably assured the project would be on time and on budget.


State officials overseeing the project spoke Tuesday to a legislative committee.


Page 7 of 7
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392