FEMA Approves Federal Disaster Aid For 12 More Counties PDF Print E-mail
Federal Government
By Administrator   
Friday, 18 October 2019 09:43
FEMA has approved his request to add 12 more counties to those eligible to receive reimbursements for Hurricane Dorian response and recovery expenses.
“This approval means more towns and counties will be able to use federal funds to cover their storm response and clean-up costs so Dorian will not put their local budgets in a bind,” Governor Roy Cooper said.   
FEMA Public Assistance funding is now available to local governments, state agencies and certain private nonprofits in these counties: Beaufort, Camden, Columbus, Greene, Hoke, Lenoir, Onslow, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson and Wayne.
The 12 additional counties bring the total to 26 North Carolina counties designated for Public Assistance as part of the Hurricane Dorian major disaster declaration.  Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington counties were included in President Trump’s initial major disaster declaration on Oct. 4.
Public Assistance is a cost-sharing program to reimburse eligible disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair or restoration of public facilities such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities. 
Governor Cooper may request additional counties be added to the Public Assistance declaration as more information is gathered.
# # #
Last Updated on Friday, 18 October 2019 09:52
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392