By Administrator Tuesday, 17 November 2015 07:02 -

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - Seventeen individuals will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom, according to a statement from President Obama. The ceremony will be held Nov. 24 at the White House.

The Presidential Medal of Freedom is the Nation's highest civilian honor, presented to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.

Among those to be honored are Yogi Berra, Barbra Streisand, and Gloria and Emilio Estefan.

In a statement posted to the White House website, President Obama said:

"I look forward to presenting these 17 distinguished Americans with our nation's highest civilian honor. From public servants who helped us meet defining challenges of our time to artists who expanded our imaginations, from leaders who have made our union more perfect to athletes who have inspired millions of fans, these men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans."

The recipients can be found at whitehouse.gov.