• Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • reddit
UNC System Names 2019-20 Presidential Scholars PDF Print E-mail
By Donna Martinez   
Tuesday, 30 July 2019 08:53

University of North Carolina System Interim President Bill Roper has announced that three recent UNC System graduates will serve as Presidential Scholars for the 2019-20 academic year. Presidential Scholars serve a one-year appointment and provide a wide range of professional functions for the UNC System Office. The scholars will interact with the president, his senior leadership and members of the UNC System Board of Governors, on topics that include education, public policy, research and data trends that affect higher education.

“This program has been such a great success since it began,” Roper said. “The scholars assist the UNC System with crucial work, while they also earn valuable experience in their preparations for promising careers in public leadership. We are proud of them for this high achievement and anticipate a great working relationship in the coming year.” 

Scholars were selected from among 2019’s UNC System graduates. Each of the applicants demonstrated leadership skills, intellectual curiosity and a strong interest in higher education and public service. The Scholars program goes beyond higher education and career development, with an exposure to the ideals of public service to the state.  Scholars see firsthand how education legislation and university policy affect current students and state residents.

This year’s scholars class includes:

Robert Boone

Elizabeth City State University

Bachelor of Science, Business Administration

Concentration:  Economics & Finance


Alexis Landrum

University of North Carolina Wilmington

Bachelor of Arts, Communication Studies 

Bachelor of Arts, International Studies

Minor:  German Studies


Katharine Shriver

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Bachelor of Arts, Public Policy and Political Science

Minor:  Social and Economic Justice


The UNC System wishes to thank Dajer Fernandez, UNC Pembroke; Ashley George, UNC Wilmington; Colin Russell, UNC-Chapel Hill; and William Zaharn, East Carolina University for serving as Presidential Scholars for the 2018-2019 year.



Last Updated on Tuesday, 30 July 2019 09:04
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392