By Administrator Tuesday, 02 February 2016 07:07 -

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - Eight North Carolina principals have been chosen as Regional Wells Fargo North Carolina Principals of the Year. They now will compete for the statewide honor.

Last year's statewide winner was Steve Lassiter Jr., principal of Pactolus School (Pitt County Schools).

The Department of Public Instruction reports the the regional principals of the year are:

Northeast: William Peele, Bertie Middle (Bertie County Schools);

Southeast: Molly White, Lincoln Elementary (Brunswick County Schools);

North Central: Matthew Hunt, Northern High (Durham Public Schools);

Sandhills: Melody Chalmers, E.E. Smith High (Cumberland County Schools);

Piedmont-Triad: Wayne Duggins, South Stokes High (Stokes County Schools);

Southwest: Maureen Furr, South Mecklenburg High (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);

Northwest: Kelly Nicholson, Oxford Elementary (Catawba County Schools);

Western: Peggy Marshall, Sugarloaf Elementary (Henderson County Schools).

Regional winners will each receive \$1,000 for personal use and \$1,000 for their schools.

A state selection committee will now review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and conduct an extensive interview process before selecting the 2016 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year. The winner will be announced in May.