By Administrator Wednesday, 04 February 2015 05:45 -

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - One contest down, one to go. Eight public school principals have been selected as regional Wells Fargo North Carolina Principals of the Year. They will compete for the state title and the chance to succeed the 2014 recipient, Carrie Tulbert, principal of Mooresville Middle School.

The regional principals of the year are:

Region I: Steve Lassiter, Pactolus Elementary (Pitt County Schools);

Region II: Robin Hamilton, Parsley Elementary (New Hanover County Schools);

Region III: Tonya Williams, Sherwood Githens Middle (Durham Public Schools);

Region IV: Kim Robertson, Elizabeth Cashwell Elementary (Cumberland County Schools);

Region V: Christopher Poston, Pittsboro Elementary (Chatham County Schools);

Region VI: Adam Auerbach, Wolf Meadow Elementary (Carbarrus County Schools);

Region VII: Shane Mace, East Burke Middle (Burke County Schools); and

Region VIII: Scott Rhodes, East Henderson High (Henderson County Schools).

A state selection committee will review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and conduct an extensive interview process before selecting the 2015 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year.

The recipient will be announced on May 1 in Cary during a luncheon sponsored by Wells Fargo to honor the regional winners. The Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year will receive a \$3,000 check for personal use and/or professional development and a \$3,000 check for his or her school to purchase materials or other equipment. The winner also will serve a one-year term as advisor to the State Board of Education. The regional winners will receive \$1,000 for personal use and \$1,000 for their schools.