Finalist List For 2014 N.C. Teacher of the Year

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - Eight North Carolina teachers are competing for the title of North Carolina Teacher of the Year. The winner will be named on Thursday by Superintendent of Public Instruction June Atkinson.

Competing for this year's award are: •North Central Region: Rhonda Holmes, Conway Middle (Northampton County Schools);

•Northeast Region: Charlene Evans, Plymouth High (Washington County Schools);

•Northwest Region: Alex Reynolds, Jesse Carson High (Rowan-Salisbury Schools);

•Southeast Region: Melissa Gillespie, Laney High (New Hanover County Schools);

•Southwest Region: James Ford, Garinger High (Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools);

•Sandhills/South Central Region: Everlene Davis, South Columbus High (Columbus County Schools);

•Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Kathy Saunders, Asheboro High (Asheboro City Schools);

•West Region: Melissa Faetz, South Macon Elementary (Macon County Schools); and

•Charter Schools: Chris Weaver, Evergreen Charter (Buncombe County).