Eight Principals Win Regional Awards, Now Compete For State's Top Title

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - Eight North Carolina principals are \$1,000 richer, thanks to being named the Wells Fargo regional principals of the year. They now compete for the state title and a \$3,000 award.

The regional winners have also snagged \$1,000 for their schools. The school of the state winner will receive a \$3,000 check. The regional principals are: -- Northeast Region: Billie Berry, Camden County High (Camden County Schools)

-- Southeast Region: Frances Herring, Contentnea-Savannah K-8 School (Lenoir County Schools)

-- North Central Region: Larry Webb, Eaton-Johnson Middle (Vance County Schools)

-- Sandhills/South Central Region: Robin Calcutt, New Century Middle, (Moore County Schools)

-- Piedmont-Triad/Central Region: Amy Rickard, Morris Grove Elementary (Chapel Hill-Carrboro City Schools)

-- Southwest Region: Brad Breedlove, Monroe High (Union County Schools)

-- Northwest Region: Carrie Tulbert, Mooresville Middle (Mooresville Graded School District)

-- West Region: Brad Richardson, Forest City-Dunbar Elementary (Rutherford County Schools)

Eight Principals Win Regional Awards, Now Compete For State's Top Title

By Administrator Friday, 31 January 2014 16:27 - Last Updated Friday, 31 January 2014 16:28

"Congratulations to these talented administrators on this well-deserved honor. Our principals work so hard to be strong instructional leaders and to ensure students are prepared to succeed," said State Superintendent June Atkinson in a news release. "Thanks to the Wells Fargo Foundation for its faithful sponsorship of this program to recognize exemplary public school leaders."

A state selection committee will review the portfolios of the eight regional winners and conduct an extensive interview process before selecting the 2014 Wells Fargo North Carolina Principal of the Year.

The recipient will be announced on May 1 in Cary during a luncheon sponsored by Wells Fargo to honor the regional winners.