• Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • reddit
Cooper's Teacher Pay Proposal Will Cost Taxpayers $800 Million Over Two Years PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Monday, 20 February 2017 15:29
Governor Roy Cooper wants to raise North Carolina salaries 5% raise this year and another 5% the next year. This raise will cost taxpayers more than $800 million over two years. 
Cooper’s proposal would bring average salaries to more than $52,000 in 2017-2018 and nearly $55,000 in 2018-2019.The budget proposal would also give teachers a direct annual stipend of $150 to offset out-of-pocket expenses for classroom supplies since many teachers stretch their already tight budgets to pay for basic classroom supplies themselves.
Governor Cooper’s plan to raise North Carolina teacher salaries will be included in the Governor’s budget to the legislature, which he plans to release in full in the coming weeks.
Last Updated on Monday, 20 February 2017 15:34
Spellings Likes Proposal To Reduce Board Of Governors PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Sunday, 19 February 2017 06:40
UNC System President Margaret Spellings issued a statement that supports a legislative proposal to reduce the membership of the Board of Governors which oversees the state's 17 campuses. 
"The General Assembly’s proposal to reduce the size of the Board of Governors fits with a natural pattern of modern and effective governance and greater operational efficiency. We have the opportunity to find the right balance in governance and accountability—system-level governance should remain focused on broad goals and accountability measures. As we rise to meet the challenges of a growing state and a more complex economy, getting that balance right is more important than ever.
"Ultimately, it’s about the people, not the number of them—their vision, expertise, and leadership that will help strengthen public education for the citizens of North Carolina.
"Our mission is to create greater opportunity for North Carolina students and families, and we appreciate the legislature’s careful attention to the University’s role in our state."
Last Updated on Sunday, 19 February 2017 07:56
Fundraising Key Skill For NC Central's Next Chancellor PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Sunday, 19 February 2017 06:30

Fundraising will be a major skill required from the next chancellor of North Carolina Central University.


The search for the successor of Debra Saunders White who died last year after a fight with cancer, has been delayed according to the Durham Herald Sun on the advice from a consultant who suggested the university complete an update of its strategic plan and bolster its fundraising staff.


The ultimate decision on who will replace Saunders-White, who died of cancer late in November, is up to UNC system President Margaret Spellings and the system Board of Governors.


A search committee will recommend three finalists trustees who will forward their recommendation to the University Of North Carolina University Board Of Governors. The university is being led by interim Chancellor Johnson Akinleye.


NC Central hired Diversified Search of Atlanta. Candidates for the job have until april10 to apply. The goal is to have the chancellor’s job filled by the fall semester.


N.C. Central, located in Durham, has 8,096 students,  78 percent of those are undergraduates according to the Herald sun. 

Last Updated on Sunday, 19 February 2017 07:57
Elon University President Will Step Down PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Monday, 13 February 2017 12:54
Elon University President Leo M. Lambert has informed the Board of Trustees that he will step down as president. The board has launched a search for Elon’s ninth president and Lambert will remain in office until his successor is in place.
After a sabbatical year dedicated to writing, Lambert will continue service to Elon as president emeritus and professor, and will be available to the new president to primarily support the university’s advancement and alumni engagement offices.
“I believe this is an ideal time for a transition in Elon’s presidency,” Lambert said. “We are completing the final objectives of the Elon Commitment strategic plan and making great progress on the leadership phase of the ‘Elon Leads’ comprehensive fundraising campaign, with a public launch scheduled for 2018. In recruiting a new president at this time, we can ensure continuity of leadership for these key initiatives, as well as anticipate the creation and implementation of the university’s next strategic plan. This will allow Elon to continue to make progress on many fronts as we build a distinguished and distinctive university.
“I expect that 2017 will be an exciting time at Elon,” Lambert said. “We have important goals to pursue and much to accomplish in the months ahead. This will be a year of hard work, anticipation and celebration of our shared achievements.”
Lambert has served as Elon’s president since January 1999. 
Last Updated on Monday, 13 February 2017 15:27

Page 3 of 5
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392