• Google Bookmarks
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Digg
  • reddit
State Board Education Task Force On Summative Assessment Forms Independent Study Groups PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Friday, 05 December 2014 05:57

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - The State Board of Education’s Task Force on Summative Assessment will convene in three independent study groups to study assessment at the elementary, middle and high school levels.

Each group will study and discuss the state and local assessments at their various grade levels, along with the creation of draft recommendations to be used to enhance the process of teaching and learning to most effectively utilize assessment data. The groups also will propose models for how assessments most suitably fit within their grade configurations.

The meetings will take place in December and January.

 The groups are:

The Elementary Study Group will meet on Friday, Dec. 12, from 9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m., in Room 224 North of the Education Building in downtown Raleigh.

The Middle School Study Group will meet on Tuesday, Dec. 9, from 9 a.m. – 12 p.m., in the 7th Floor State Board Lounge in the Education Building.
The High School Study Group will meet via webinar on Friday, Dec. 12, from 1 – 3 p.m. The meeting is available through GoToMeeting. To listen, register online at https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/294764569. Once registered you will receive an email confirming your registration with information on how to join the Webinar.

Revisions To Charter School Application Process Subject Of Advisory Board Meeting PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Thursday, 04 December 2014 05:34

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - The North Carolina Charter Schools Advisory Board and its Policy Subcommittee will meet Monday to discuss revisions to the charter school application and review process. Although charter renewal presentations will be the primary focus of the meeting, the Board also will discuss finance issues related to Dynamic Community Charter and Longleaf School of the Arts.

The meeting begins at 9 a.m. and is scheduled to end at 3:30 p.m. in the 7th Floor Board Room of the Education Building on Wilmington Street in Raleigh.

The subcommittee meeting and full Board meeting will be audio streamed. To listen, use the Live Audio Stream link at http://stateboard.ncpublicschools.gov.

Agenda For This Week's State Board of Education Meeting PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Monday, 01 December 2014 05:56

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - The state Board of Education will meet Wednesday an Thursday, following the agenda below.

Please note that Board members will discuss all agenda items (unless otherwise noted) in their committee meetings on Wednesday, Dec. 3. Board members will summarize their Committee discussions and take action on agenda items as appropriate during their full Board meeting on Thursday, Dec. 4.


WEDNESDAY, DEC. 3       

 10 – 10:05 a.m.

Call to order and approval of December Board agenda


10:05 – 10:45 a.m.

•  21st Century Professionals Committee

State Board member Olivia Oxendine, chair; John Tate, vice chair

Discussion items: Requests for Waivers from Analysis of Student Work, Requests for Waivers from North Carolina Final Exams, Recommendations for Approval of Superintendent Licensure Programs

New Business items: Annual Report on the NC Center for the Advancement of Teaching and Teacher Observation Requirements


10:45 a.m. – 12:25 p.m.

•  Globally Competitive Students Committee

State Board member Marcella Savage, chair; Olivia Oxendine, vice chair

Action items: Revisions to Alternative Learning Program Policies and Procedures, and Accountability Model for Alternative Schools

Discussion items: Global Language Endorsement, Dropout Policy Revision, Invitation to Submit Textbooks for Evaluation and Adoption in North Carolina – K-12 Science, Updates of Textbook Policies, Driver Education Policy Revisions and Course Alignment to the Founding Principles Act

New Business item: Career and Technical Education Partnerships


12:25 p.m.  LUNCH


1:15 – 2:00 p.m.

•  Leadership for Innovation Committee

State Board member Rebecca Taylor, chair; Wayne McDevitt, vice chair

Action item: Approval of Cooperative Innovative High School Applications

Discussion items: Charter Schools Process for Assumption of Inadequately Performing Charter Schools and Final Approval for 2015 Charter Schools

New Business items: NC Virtual Public School Update and US/India Partnership Schools in North Carolina for Real Communication


2 – 3:10 p.m.

•  21st Century Systems Committee

State Board member Greg Alcorn, chair; Kevin Howell, vice chair

Action items: Worker’s Compensation Public School Employees - Policy Revision TCS-Q-001 and Worker’s Compensation – Loss Prevention – New Policy

Discussion items: Worker’s Compensation – LEA Return-to-Work Compliance – New Policy, NC Virtual Public School Advisory Board Membership, Membership for the Driver Education Advisory Committee, Policy Revisions to Accommodate Virtual Charter School Pilots, NC Public School Personnel State Salary Manual Revisions and Career and Technical Education Credential Allotment

New Business item: 2014 Report on 21st Century Community Learning Centers


3:10 – 3:35 p.m.

•  Global Education Special Committee

State Board member Wayne McDevitt, chair; Marcella Savage, vice chair

Discussion item: Presentation of Proposed Criteria for Global-Ready School Designation


3:35 p.m.  Open session then adjourn to closed session


5 p.m.  Board reconvenes then adjourns




9 – 11:15 a.m.

Following approval of their November minutes, Board members will recognize the NC Finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching and outgoing State Board of Education Local Board of Education Advisor Richard Hooker (Cleveland County Schools). The Board will then hear a special report on the Analysis of Multiple Measures of Teacher Effectiveness.

State Superintendent June Atkinson will follow with her report to the Board, which includes a legislative report from NCDPI Legislative and Community Affairs Director Rachel Beaulieu. State Board Staff Attorney Katie Cornetto will then give a rules review update.

Committee chairs will then report out and members will take action on regular agenda items as appropriate. Chairman Bill Cobey will conclude the meeting with his comments followed by a discussion of any new and old business.

State Board Of Education Approves $162 Million 2015-17 Budget Request PDF Print E-mail
By Administrator   
Wednesday, 26 November 2014 06:25

RALEIGH, (SGRToday.com) - State Board of Education members have approved a $162 million budget request for the 2015-17 cycle that puts textbooks, classroom technology, and instructional supplies at the top of its priorities for public schools.

The November issue of the board's newsletter reports that the board worked with the Office of State Budget and Management to ensure its request met this year's guidelines of making a net impact to the General Fund of 2 percent savings.

"If funded," reports the newsletter, "the $76.8 million increase for textbooks will bring textbook funding levels from $15.28 per student in average daily membership to $67.15 per student. Other items in the request focus on support for lowest-achieving schools, professional development and connectivity."

Last Updated on Wednesday, 26 November 2014 06:26

Page 6 of 10
Copyright 2011 - All Rights Reserved
3012 Highwoods Blvd., Suite 200
Raleigh, NC 27604
Telephone: (919) 790-9392